Donna DeForbes in Warwick, RI is taking on the EcoChallenge and is doing one green thing each day. Below is an excerpt from her EcoChallenge musings on her Eco-Mothering Blog.

So the EcoChallenge begins, and I am filled with motivation. I’ve shepherded my family into this (some less willingly than others) as we follow the green-brick road to sustainable living…I’ve decided to do one green thing each day during this two-week challenge…

Energy Efficiency
My first order of business was to support clean energy utilities…Encouraging renewable energy companies is a green brick on the road. In my ultimate green vision, our house would operate completely on wind and solar power, which would be cheaper, cleaner and would occupy the kids with games of ring around the wind turbine…

 
I’ve gently steered my husband toward some energy-saving actions such as turning off lights (he’s a bit absent-minded) and turning off his laptop instead of keeping it in sleep mode. U.S. Department of Energy guidelines suggest powering down if you’re away for at least two hours. This technical blog figures that you can save close to $100 annually per computer just by turning it off overnight…
 
Alternative Transportation
For this EcoChallenge, I’m committing to walk or bike to places within a mile of my house (except the grocery store). This means biking to my three-times-per-week zumba class…

Trash Reduction
Sofie’s focus appears to be recycling. She’s been monitoring our bathroom use, darting in to claim toilet paper rolls for her kindergarten class…While our family recycles quite a bit, I’ve not been industrious about toilet paper tubes, mostly because my habit is to toss it right into the bathroom trashcan instead of saving it for the kitchen recycle bin. So, kudos to my daughter for picking up the slack there.
 
On this issue, I went to recycle the plastic container of deli ham I had bought and realized it was a #7. The #7 plastic is typically not recyclable (although Rhode Island now takes them), and it can contain BPA, which studies have shown leaches potential hormone disruptors...Perhaps next time I could wait in line at the deli and bring my own containers? Or forgo the ham altogether and go meatless more often. That’s in my plan for next week. Stay tuned.
For the full story and photos, click here.
