Last month from October 1-15th 1,188 EcoChallengers and 179 teams took on EcoChallenges related to energy efficiency, water conservation, sustainable food options, alternative transportation and trash reduction, with 49 EcoChallengers raising $20,000 (all of which will go to support NWEI’s sustainability programs). Teams participating included corporate teams, higher education teams, faith organizations, families and community groups. We were thrilled to have The Standard, Portland General Electric, Energy Trust, 200 Market Building, Catlin Gabel School, Portland Community College, Davis Wright Tremaine and Portland Center Stage amongst the teams participating in this annual event.  98% of participants plan to continue their EcoChallenge activities.

Here are some quotes from 2012 EcoChallengers highlighting their favorite part of the Challenge. Thanks to all who participated last month!

“My favorite part was that in less than two
weeks my challenge became a habit.”

“Knowing that making small changes in our daily
routines can have a significant positive impact.”

“It always helps me realize how much it improves
my life to become more sustainable. Not only
does it improve the world around me but oft en
I save money, eat healthier, and help the local
economy.”

“Teaching my family to conserve.”

“Feeling a sense of community responsibility
when I thought about my actions each day.”

“Raising my consciousness – I thought about
the challenge throughout each day.”

“I liked having a daily emphasis on trying to
do something new that’s good for the earth.”

“I thought about it everyday, leading up to
and during the challenge. I think my behavior
has changed and doubt I will slip backwards.”

“Learning how to identify and incorporate
green’ living into my life. It made me aware
of my surroundings and how I can help as an
individual.”

